Record Lock grants the first user who opens a record in edit mode exclusive editing rights to that record, preventing other users from making edits until the lock is released. Record Lock can be enabled for Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3 records, Transactions, Contacts, and Organizations. Other users who attempt to edit the locked record see a prominent notification on their screen. Record locks release automatically when the user who locked the record logs out of SmartSimple.
Who: Global administrators and system managers
When to Use Record Lock
Use Record Lock when:
- Concurrent editing is a concern for records within a UTA/module, particularly for Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3 Activities.
- Multiple team members regularly edit the same Contact and Organization records.
Enable Record Lock for Level 3 Activities
A Record Lock can be enabled for Level 3 Activities using the Enable Record Lock toggle in the Level 3 Features and Options section.
To enable Record Lock for Level 3 Activities:
- Click the Menu icon in the upper navigation bar, select the relevant UTA/module from the Applications drop-down menu, and then click the Configuration Settings gear.
- Click the Level 3 tab.
-
Locate the Features and Options section, and toggle Enable Record Lock on.
Enable Record Lock for Contacts and Organizations
To enable Record Lock for Contacts and Organizations:
- Click the System Administration gear in the upper navigation bar, and then select Global Settings from the drop-down menu, and click the Organizations tab.
- Locate the Company Settings section, check Enable Record Lock, and click Save.
- Click the Users tab.
- Locate the User Settings section, check Enable Record Lock, and then click Save.
Troubleshoot Record Lock Issues
Occasionally, a record may remain locked when it is no longer being edited, for example, if a user's browser crashes or their internet connection fails during editing. The following methods can resolve a stuck record lock:
- A global administrator can click the Undo Check Out button on the relevant record.
- The user who locked the record can unlock it by opening the record and then navigating away from it.
- The record releases when the user who locked it logs out of SmartSimple.